AppleCare Tech Support

applecareOn Thursday I was not able to get my iPod Touch to be seen in iTunes. I tried the normal troubleshooting steps to get the iPod to be seen in iTunes, but nothing seemed to work. The night before I updated iTunes on all three of my Macs, so I thought the issue was related to the update. I tried my wife’s iPod on my Mac, and it came up fine in iTunes. At this point I realize it must be my iPod, and not my Mac or iTunes. As a last resort I plug my iPod Touch into my wife’s Mac, and it connected to iTunes, so I was able to put my Podcasts on my iPod.

When I got to work I plugged my iPod into my MacBook and my Dell; consequently, my iPod would not connect to either of my computers. When I got home I contacted AppleCare Tech Support to see if they would be able to reset the iPod Touch. I tried several different ways, and none of them seemed to work. The technician I spoke with had me go through some of the steps I had done earlier in the day. When it still did not work, he had me perform a hard reset. Then he had me plug in the iPod and connect it to my Mac. Viola, iTunes saw my iPod Touch. I had to restore it. So I ran the restore, and everything was going fine. I was then prompted that the restore was successful, and that the iPod is restarting. Unfortunately, it got stuck again, an it would not come up in iTunes. The AppleCare technician deemed the iPod to be inoperable. He said that I can take the iPod Touch to my local Apple Store, and that they would replace it with a new iPod. I asked him if its refurb or a new iPod that they will replace it with. The technician reassured me that they would replace it with a new iPod. I told him that would be great. I was never a big fan of refurbbed electronics. Well, after my call was over I made an appointment for Saturday with the Genius Bar to have them look at my iPod Touch, and then replace the unit.

I went on Saturday to the Apple Store. I got there about a half an hour early. I was expecting to wait till my appointment, but they took me within a couple of minutes. The woman at the Genius Bar looked at my iPod Touch, and she tried to get it to work on her MacBook. Unfortunately, she to was unable to get it to be seen in iTunes. So, she said that she could replace it with a new iPod Touch. She scanned in the old iPod, and then the new iPod. She had me sign a warranty exchange sheet, and I was on my merry way with a new working iPod Touch. The best part of all of this is when I brought it home. I connected the iPod Touch to my iMac, and I was able to restore the applications that I purchased in January. Even better I was able to even have all the data from my notes restored as well. From beginning to end I had a great experience from the AppleCare support call to working with the Genius at the Apple Store. I wish I could say I had this great of an experience with other comapnies that sell and support computers and electronics. Today Apple receives an A++ from me for service and support.

One Response

  1. I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

    Stacey Derbinshire

Leave a Reply

