Apple’s Wireless Aluminum Keyboard

apple-aluminum-wireless-keyboardLast week I bought the Apple Wireless Aluminum keyboard. It was thinner than I had expected it to be, but I like the footprint. It’s about the size of my MacBook keyboard. The one thing I had to get used to was that it does not have a ten-key pad. I could have gotten the Wired Aluminum keyboard, but I like to have available USB ports. The wired version does come with the ten-key pad. If you are asking yourself what the heck is this guy talking about, a ten-key pad. What I have come to know the ten-key pad to be is the set of numbers to the right of the keyboard. They look like an inverted telephone key pad.

I love the design of the keyboard, like I mentioned before it’s like my MacBook keyboard. I use my laptop a lot, so transitioning to this keyboard is not that big of a deal. With limited space on my keyboard tray the smaller keyboard makes it easier for me when I need to make those long swipes with my mouse. I also like the low keys on the keyboard. When I was a kid I had a Tandy TRS-80 computer, with soft touch low keys. I always look for that feature in a keyboard. I find that to be the most responsive, yet easy and comfortable to type on for me. There are people who would disagree with me, and say that they like a keyboard that has more of a click sound when they type. I guess this is the whole tactile vs. non-tactile argument with typing.

I guess the one thing I would have liked to see on this keyboard is the ten-key pad. These set of keys come in handy whenever you are dealing with numbers. It’s like having a calculator on your keyboard. I find it to be most useful when I am paying my Bills, or if I am working in Excel. Who knows maybe in their next revision of the keyboard they might add those keys.

Overall, I am very happy with this keyboard. The pros out weight the cons for me. One other feature I forgot to mention was the predefined shortcut keys. The keyboard comes with preprogrammed keys for showing all windows or the dashboard.

I would like to hear from you. What kind of keyboards you like to use. Be it wired or wireless. It can be a particular brand you like better than the other. So drop a comment, and let me know what you prefer.

4 Responses

  1. Very interesting. Sounds like a great keyboard. Could you tell me why someone would pay this much for a keyboard when they could get a Logitech Cordless Desktop S 530 Laser for Mac for much less?

  2. The Apple keyboard employs Bluetooth technology, as were the Logitech Cordless Desktop does not. Generally Bluetooth keyboards or mice will cost a little more. I chose the Apple keyboard because I can connect the keyboard through the built-in Bluetooth adapter on my iMac. I read reviews for the Logitech Cordless Desktop S 530 Laser for Mac, and it looks to be a great keyboard for the Mac. I bought my Apple Keyboard from Best Buy’s website, and I chose the In-Store Pickup option. When I picked up the keyboard, I was told that the keyboard was $10.00 less than what was listed on their site. Instead of being $79.99, it was $69.99. A nice bonus.

  3. I did not know that. That is very interesting. What advantage will a bluetooth keyboard give me over a wireless one and is it bluetooth 1.1 or 2.0? It seems like if there is no advantage with bluetooth, my money would be better spent on getting both a keyboard and a mouse.

  4. One advantage of Bluetooth is that it uses the 2.45GHz frequency. The standard wireless keyboards or mice are using the 2.4GHz frequency. Bluetooth uses this higher frequency, so that it won’t interfere with say your cordless phone. If you have a 5.8GHz cordless phone the chance of interference with the 2.4GHz wireless device is slim. I have used both wireless and bluetooth devices. I prefer bluetooth devices, because it employs a higher frequency band, and has a higher range. With a bluetooth device you can be 30 feet from the receiving device. This works well if you have your computer connected to your TV. Playstation 3 is a good example of Bluetooth usage. The game controllers and the remote utilize bluetooth. I have yet to have any interference or non-responsiveness from the controllers. I think it ultimately comes down to preference. I also prefer to use bluetooth devices on my iMac, so that I can keep my USB port available.

Leave a Reply

