New iMacs Have Arrived!!!

iMacYesterday I wrote in my blog that Apple is coming out with revised iMacs.  I thought that they were going to come out tomorrow; because Tuesdays is when Apple usually releases their new products.  Well, they released the iMacs today with bump increases only.  As I mentioned yesterday I was hoping that they would include a Blu-ray drive.  But, they did not, I guess I will have to wait for the next refresh.  Generally when there is a bump in hardware, and not a significant upgrade that means the next round will have the upgrades.  As for the iMacs being released today, it might mean that Apple has another new product lined up for tomorrow.  We will see what Apple has in store for us.

Looking at the line-up it appears that pricing has not changed for the three different models of iMacs.  However, it appears that Apple has introduced a new 24-inch iMac, it sports the following specs:
3.06GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
2GB memory
500GB hard drive
8x double-layer
SuperDrive
NVIDIA GeForce 8800
GS with 512MB memory
Ships: 1-3 business days
$2199.00
These specs come directly from Apple’s online Store.  For more information click here.

With these specifications it appears Apple is looking at the gamer market.  This is the first time I have seen a NVIDIA video card in an iMac.  You generally find these cards in the Mac Pros.  If Apple is doing this, I say good for them.  The more they open their products to gamers, or non gamers only means more market growth for them.

One Response

  1. […] bigpapy wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptYesterday I wrote in my blog that Apple is coming out with revised iMacs.  I thought that they were going to come out tomorrow; because Tuesdays is when Apple usually releases their new products.  Well, they released the iMacs today with bump increases only.  As I mentioned yesterday I was hoping that they would include a Blu-ray drive.  But, they did not, I guess I will have to wait for the next refresh.  Generally when there is a bump in hardware, and not a significant upgrade that means the next round will have the upgrades.  As for the iMacs being released today, it might mean that Apple has another new product lined up for tomorrow.  We will see what Apple has in store for us. Looking at the line-up it appears that pricing has not changed for the three different models of iMacs.  However, it appears that Apple has introduced a […] […]

Leave a Reply

