3G iPhone

prod-hero-blackI am so excited about all the great new features that are coming in the 3G iPhone.  However, there are few things that I would have liked to have seen in this release of the iPhone.  I am very happy that the iPhone is 3G.  I checked AT&T’s coverage map, and I am in the coverage area.  From what I understand there are still some areas that have not been upgraded to support 3G.  AT&T said that they are still upgrading their equipment.  But, don’t fret the new iPhone still will support the EDGE network.  The new iPhone will have Wi-Fi, so if you are next to an access point you will have a faster than EDGE speed connection.

Next on the list is GPS, unfortunately, it is Assisted GPS.  This means that it can rely on cell towers and WiFi access points if needed.  What I am not to clear on is that the iPhone does not support turn-by-turn directions, but it has tracking capabilities.  I’ve heard that Tom-Tom wanted to write an app for the iPhone; consequently, the iPhone SDK states that there cannot be turn-by-turn software for the GPS.  Lets hope that changes really soon.  Maybe Apple wants to stay away from being sued if the person is somehow injured using the GPS.

Apple is now selling the iPhone subsidized.  This means that when you sign your two year contract with AT&T they are paying for a portion of the phone.  The iPhone is $200.00 less than the first generation iPhone.  Apple is no longer receiving a cut of the monthly service plan.  Apple wants to get the iPhone into more hands, and this is a smart move on their part.  AT&T is actually loosing money on every sale. but they are hoping to make up the loss in the subscriptions.

The App Store is finally here.  Now you can have locally running apps on your iPhone.  There are going to be several Apps available at launch, some will be free, and others will have a cost.  There are games for the iPhone as well.  A few of them were demoed at WWDC, and they look outstanding.  I would say that they are as good or even better than the Sony PSP.

Now for the things that I would have liked to have seen on the new iPhone.  I would have liked cut and paste as a feature.  I only hope that it will be in the next release.  I have been using an iPod Touch, and I would find this feature invaluable.  The other thing I wanted to see on the 3G iPhone was a front facing camera for video conferencing.  I saw the screenshots before the WWDC, and I was disappointed that they were only Photoshopped images.

Finally, I was 99.9% certain that Apple would introduce a 32GB iPhone.  It would only be logical to release a larger capacity iPhone with the introduction of the Apps Store.  Well, to my dismay they did not release the 32GB version.  I guess I will just have to be froogle about what I put on the new iPhone.  With my luck in two or three months Apple will release the 32GB iPhone.  I know, I know, I am an early adopter, and this is the price we pay to be the first to get the latest gadgets.

Overall, I am very happy with the features that will be coming out on the new iPhone, and I can’t wait till it’s here.  There are eleven days left till the iPhone 3G is here, and counting.

One Response

  1. Good thoughts here! Glad we have 3G where I live.

Leave a Reply

